Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

It took me less than 50 pages to completely fall in love with this book. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff is an amazing start to what appears to be an awesome new series. Fastpaced, thrilling, and incredibly sarcastic, this book will keep you one your toes until the very last page.

Rating: 5/5

This review may contain mild spoilers for this book (What I consider spoilers might not be what you consider spoilers but I thought that I’d put it out there just in case). READERS YE BE WARNED!

It’s a big thing to say but I think that Nevernight might just be the best book I have ever read in my life! A couple friends of mine from bookstagram have been raving about this book since it came out last year and when I finally got around to reading it I was so mad at myself for not getting to it sooner. I just want to say that this is definitely a NA (New Adult) book and not a YA book (similar to the later books in Sarah J. Maas’ ACOTAR and Throne of Glass series’) as I would say that it is closer to the Adult genre because it contains lots of stabby action and some SexyTimesTM.

GoodReads Blurb:

Destined to destroy empires Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in the shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows loves her. And they drink her fear.

Nevernight is essentially an origin story for our main character, Mia, and how she became an assassin before she gets to the probably brutal and definitely satisfying killing that I assume will be in the next books in this series. Even though I say that it is an origin story (kind of) it is by no means slow. In fact it is the exact opposite as it is faced-paced and always has something going on. The blurb is exactly right in saying that the Red Church is no Hogwarts but only in that they are both schools and if Hogwarts taught its student how to murder the shit out of people. Epic and exciting, Nevernight is truly like nothing I’ve ever read before.

Revenge! Murder! Hooray! (I never thought I’d have to write that ever). This book is so wonderfully murderous (again, never thought I’d have to write that) that it truly outshines a lot of other fantasy novels (Game of Thrones by “Fiction’s Most Notorious Serial Killer” George R.R. Martin is probably more stabby however). All of the characters are awesome or creepy or just sassy! I don’t know if I’ve said this yet but I think that this may just be one of the best books I HAVE EVER READ!!!!! Warning to those who may be faint of heart, this book does have some graphic sex scenes but as someone who reads romance novels this didn’t really bother me. As a continuance of that, the main character  does get to explore herself as a woman and take chances that she may not have previously if she hadn’t met some of the other characters so that may change you mind about boycotting this book without reading it. One thing that did slightly annoyed me, but that I also understood, was that at one point in the story, everyone got magical plastic surgery and became “beautiful”. I don’t tend to like it when an author makes all of the characters gorgeous because it seems just a bit risky to kind of comment on body image. In saying that, as people in the real world, as well as this fictional one, tend to trust attractive people more, I can understand the logic in making a bunch of assassins as conventionally attractive as possible in order to make it easier for them to gain access to a mark.

Character Appreciation/Disdain (Sometimes a rant but what can you do?)

Mia: Oh, our loveable and murderous little bitch. I cannot tell you enough how much I adore Mia. This girl is literally just goals in terms of personality. She’s sarcastic, and sassy, and a bit of a cow at times but, MY GOD, is she goal-orientated.

Tric: A picture of this boy should sit right next to the definition of stubborn in the dictionary. He, like Mia, has a tragic backstory which has pushed him to become an assassin and, as expected in a NA/YA novel, he is the main love interest. One of my favourite, favourite, favourite things about Tric is that his character seem to be influenced by Maori or other islander cultural customs and such things. I just think that that’s really cool because it’s not something that you see very often, if ever.

I have never met a more sarcastic narrator than the one which tells Nevernight. The book itself is written in omniscient third person and uses footnotes to introduce different aspects of the fiction world where this first book is set. When I first picked up this book I thought that the footnotes would be irritating to read but it honestly feels like the narrator is going off on tangents to explain certain things to an individual unfamiliar with the society, city, and political environment where it is set. The prologue-bit-thing (its a one page letter-type-thing) introduces this concept and sets the story’s voice up as someone other than the main characters telling the story. I have noticed quite a few people on Goodreads review this book and mocking the highly descriptive writing style used in Nevernight but I will NOT BE ONE OF THEM! I absolutely loved how this book was written, crazy descriptions and all.

Fast paced and highly addictive, this book was a stabtastic beginning to what will hopefully be an awesome series. Nevernight will be taking the #1 spot on my favourite books read this year and I can’t wait to see if Godsgrave is just as good or even better. If you are a fan of Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series or Game of Thrones I highly recommend this book (Even if you aren’t a fan of those things I still recommend this book because it is awesome and I love it!).

2 Replies to “Nevernight by Jay Kristoff”

Leave a Reply

